Olivet Nazarene University announces new major in data science

information provided by Olivet Nazarene University BOURBONNAIS, Ill. (November 2018) – Data science is now a major and minor offered by Olivet Nazarene University. Enrollment is open for fall 2019 to students who want to enter this interdisciplinary field that is growing in popularity. Completion of Olivet’s program will lead to a Bachelor of Science … Read more

TF South Athletes of the Week: Samantha Andrews and Elijah Stewart

information submitted by Doug Smith, Assistant Athletic Director LANSING, Ill. (November 30, 2018) – Samantha Andrews and Elijah Stewart were chosen as TF South’s Athletes of the Week for the week of December 1. Samantha Andrews Andrews is a two-year varsity bowler. This week, in the same match, she bowled a 246 and 248. Elijah … Read more

Agendas: Village Board and Committee of the Whole meetings – 12/04/18

Lots of Lansing news happens at Lansing Village Board meetings. In order to keep Lansing residents and businesses informed about topics being discussed and decisions being made, The Lansing Journal posts agendas for upcoming meetings here: Village Board—12/04/18 agenda Committee of the Whole—12/04/18 agenda Open invitation All residents are welcome to attend Committee of the … Read more

IDOT named Employer of the Year for advancement of women in transportation

information provided by the Illinois Department of Transportation CHICAGO, Ill. (November 19, 2018) – The Illinois Department of Transportation today announced that it has been named Employer of the Year by Women in Transportation Seminar Chicago (WTS Chicago), a group that promotes the development and advancement of women in transportation. “Women play an integral part … Read more

Thornton Township wins four awards at Springfield conference

information provided by Thornton Township SOUTH HOLLAND, Ill. (November 29, 2018) – Thornton Township walked away with four prestigious awards at the annual Township Officials of Illinois Conference in Springfield, Illinois: Caseworker of the Year, awarded to Lakeela Jennings Best Township Innovative Program Best Township Social Media Message of the Year, awarded to Ernst Lamothe … Read more